Still waiting on something to go right

Posted: May 28, 2013 in Life after Prison
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s been six months today since my release from the Atlanta Federal Prison Camp.  So far life is moving on, but not at the pace I was hoping or expected.

It’s been six months and I’ve yet to get a job, my unemployment has run out, and apparently I’m not eligible for emergency unemployment.  Has it been tough?  Yes it has.  It has been one of the toughest things to go through.  One might even say it was tougher than actually being in prison.

I’m still on Home Confinement despite the pleas from my Probation Officer to allow me to get off (while I live in one state and am supervised by one PO, I’m “managed” by my main PO in another state).  Letters sent to the DOJ by my attorney, myself, and the local offices have been unanswered.  Needless to say I’m going crazy having to stay at this house all the time.

I have applied for well over 200 jobs and am still looking.  I’ve had a few interview (actually was hired for one position), but have been told that they are not interested, I’m over-qualified, “you might take my job”, or just haven’t heard back from the employer.  I read over and over that there are jobs out there and looking at the job boards that my make it look like there really are.  However, when doing an informal poll of those who have listed position a large percentage of those listing a job already have someone in mind for the job before the posting in done.  I guess knowing someone is the only way to get a job.

I’ve tried all the career centers, federal assistance programs, and local program but none have been very helpful.

But I move on.

The time will come soon when I will be able to get out of the house, apply for jobs in person, and not worry as to whether my phone is connected properly.  It will come.  I know it will.

Comments
  1. Freddy says:

    How did you become eligible for unemployment benefits after being incarcerated ?
    Thanks

    • Bryan says:

      I was very lucky. I had actually started my unemployment for about one month prior to my incarceration. Since my incarceration was so short I was able to reinstate my benefits. So I just had to reapply and was able to get it reinstate. I was lucky.

  2. Sad Sister says:

    I have just found your blog, and I am so grateful for this information. My brother self-surrendered in Atlanta on Monday (6/10), and my family is still in shock. Even though we knew this was coming, the reality still hit us hard. I went with him, and I could totally relate to your experience of saying good-bye. Being the one who had to drive away was heart-wrenching. We were told he would probably only be in the intake facility one night, so I surely hope he was moved to the Camp on Tuesday.
    Our mother (age 83) is having a very hard time dealing with this, and she was determined we would go see him this weekend–a 6 hour drive from her home in Florida. She refused to believe they would deny her visitation, and the rest of us were really unsure since the info provided by the system is unclear about policies for the Camp vs those for General Population, especially where family is concerned. After reading your entry about Visitation, however, I have convinced her that we should wait at least one more week, so that we have time to send a letter that we will be coming and hopefully will be on THE LIST by then.
    I am so sad that you are having much difficulty with your re-entry. I wish you all the best, and I hope things will turn around for you very soon.
    Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
    Sad Sister

    • Bryan says:

      I’m so glad that my blog posts were helpful to you. There really is no way to truly understand the feelings you and your family are going through unless you have been through it yourself. Everything will be fine and your brother will be okay.

      Make sure you don’t plan to visit your brother until you can confirm that he has been transferred to the camp and has been given permission to get visitors. Things have changed since I was there and I’m sure it will not take as long as it did for me. Good luck!!!

  3. antonio says:

    I am awaiting sentencing in federal court. It is a very tough time for me. I am reading this blogs to try learn. Doing my very best to stay calm and composed.

    • Bryan says:

      Believe me waiting is the worse part of it. But don’t worry you will get through it all. If you need any questions answered, just let me know!

  4. Damien says:

    Bryan, this has been a very informative post. Although I am currently out on Home Confinement, I have kept three jobs and have enrolled in two different schools. My sentence date is Wednesday 05/27/15. Although I am nervous (more so for my wife than for myself) I am comforted by God that wherever he puts me is where I am meant to be. My guidelines are 18-24 months and I have been on home confinement for 9 months after awaiting a bail hearing in the NY MCC facility for almost 4 months. Mine, like yours, is a “White Collar” crime and although I hold out hope that I may get some reduced sentence, I am preparing myself for a possible self surrender. My fear, like many others, is more for my wife. More so because she is new to this country and not completely acclimated to the way things are here and not really employable in a capacity where she can fend for herself. My prayers go out to all the families of those incarcerated and to the incarcerated themselves. I appreciate your blog as it was insightful. I wonder if you have a take on the systems use of giving less than the sentencing guideline?

    • Life in a Federal Prison Camp says:

      Damien, thank you for your kind words and I’m sorry to hear you are going through these tough times. It looks like by know you’ve received your sentence and I’m hoping the judge was lenient. It sounds like you have done plenty to keep yourself busy which is a great thing. The less you dwell on the bad things the better.

      I don’t have any insights on sentencing outside the guidelines. Currently judges have complete discretion in whether to create judgements below or at the guideline level. Much of I has to do with the severity of the crime, your own criminal history, and how you present yourself to the judge/court.

      The other thing that may sway the judges opinion is the recommendation from the prosecutors and probation (during pre-sentencing). Your PSR is the only way the judge gets a better look into your life and background.

      Hopefully everything has gone well for you. Everything will work out in the end. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

