Home Confinement: Slowly Coming to an End

Posted: November 6, 2013 in Life after Prison
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

120119_doj_logo_ap_328I know it has been a while since I’ve written to this blog, but my situation continues to get stranger and stranger.

While I’m still on Home Confinement I just don’t know what is going on. I’ve been told three times that I would have an opportunity to get off early.  However, I’m stuck in a world that just doesn’t make any sense. I was prosecuted out of one jurisdiction, but live in another (a good 800 miles away).  During my sentencing the judge instructed that my case be transferred to my residential area and all post incarceration matters would be handled there.

Here is where the problems come in. While the transcript of the sentencing states it was to be transferred the documented copies of the sentencing says it is recommended and authorized for transfer. This has created many problems; even prior to my release. Because my case was in a different jurisdiction, the case managers at the Atlanta USP had to get a waiver for my probation to be held in my place of residence. This created many delays; which included the inspection of my home for release. My original jurisdiction was required to authorize a “proxy” probation officer. While I was technically under my local area, all information was to be provided to the prosecuting area.

My current PO has requested I be removed from Home Confinement twice and denied twice by the prosecuting probation office. I have no violations, no problems, and am just someone who never leaves his home. I was told by one official that since I’m an “easy statistic” they will keep me on for the entire duration. In other words, since they didn’t have to worry about me it was easy to keep me on their rolls and allowed them to look like they were responsible for more people than they actually are.

Don’t get me started on that one. I’ve tried to get my community service completed for just under a year, but my originating jurisdiction has stated they do not want me to start until I’ve completed the entirety of my confinement. I’m not asking for special treatment. I just want to be treated like everyone else.

I’m down to 22 days left on this monitoring device and would just be happy to go grocery shopping, get a haircut without an appointment, and even go job hunting in person rather than only doing it online.

I have to tell you, I’ve learned a lot about the Federal Justice System throughout the time I’ve been in it. I know many people have preconceived notions about people who have been convicted of crimes; major or minor. Some of those notions are legitimate and understandable. However, there are many individuals who are caught up in the system with no way out (except time). It seems that until you are caught up in or directly affected by the system, you really don’t care about it. Sad but true. I know I never really thought about the system, its’ complexities or its’ faults until I was brought into it.

I only hope that others will take an interest, look into it, and find that a lot of things that can and should be changed.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Wow, based on your situation, I should consider myself very fortunate (and believe me, I do!). I had the same jurisdiction issue, but without any of the complications, for some reason. It just goes to show you that things are handled differently from place to place. I’ve been off home confinement for almost a week now, and it feels great! As I said before, I never got incarcerated, just sentenced directly to home confinement, so I don’t know.

    I’ve been placed on something called minimal supervision probation, so I just report online, and since I don’t use drugs or alcohol there’s no issues there. I have 200 hours of community service that I couldn’t start until I completed HC, but that’s no issue, and my officer told me that once I do that, he’s recommending early termination of my supervised release.

    I hope your issues get resolved; stay strong and patient, and always try to find positives in the situation, it helps!

  2. Ernie says:

    my heart goes out to these guys, and there’s no question that they are better and stronger as a product of their experiences.

Leave a Reply

