Probation Reivew

Posted: May 26, 2014 in Life after Prison

I’ve been off of Home Confinement now for about 7 months.  All I can say is it is great to be able to get out and go pretty much anywhere without having “special” permission.  Also I finally found a job!  Hence my lack of writing for a while.  It’s a decent, but not great job.  As with most people re-entering the workforce these days it is well below what my education and experience.  However, I’ve never been too proud and was willing to take what I could so that I could be working.  I do enjoy and get a chance to interact with a variety of people and organizations.

That being said, getting a job is great, but I do still have my conviction and history hanging over my head.  At the conclusion of the evaluation period I was supposed to get a pay increase.  However, when the time came they negated any raise and kept my pay at the evaluation level stating that I was lucky to be working.  It’s really frustrating, but I would agree I am happy to be working.

Life continues to get better and better.  My life is slowly getting back to normal….well, that was until the Friday prior to Mother’s Day.  I received a package in the mail from the probation department.  It was time for the financial review and a note on the inside said I need to have it turned in by the coming Tuesday.  Well, there goes all the Mother’s Day plans we had.

These are similar to the information done in the pre-investigation reporting; they can be pretty extensive and complicated.  The biggest issue is that most bills are paid online and I  never see the full bill.  In speaking to my PO, she stated that in order for someone to be removed from probation they will have to submit to these items.  That sounded like very good news.  I was going to do what I could get off probation.  It took me over 10 hours and almost a 1/2 ream of paper.  Needless to say I dropped it off on that Tuesday and am keeping my fingers crossed that there won’t be any more requests for information.

I’m now half-way through my probationary period.  Will I be released early?  Will I be able to spend my life the way I was prior to my conviction?  We can only hope and pray I am.

 

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations on finding a job – any job! I have been looking for two years with very few interviews and no call backs. I don’t know if it is my felony conviction that is the problem. I also tried to get off probation early but wasn’t allowed to. However the three years went by fairly quickly. Making restitution payments every month is a big pain – but after three years of it I just think of it as another monthly bill.

  2. Just A Girl says:

    What is a typical schedule like at the Atlanta camp?

    Also, if you don’t mind emailing me? I don’t know if you’d be willing or
    Interested but I’m doing a lot of research on white collar crime and would live to pick your brain lol

    • Bryan says:

      I apologize for the delay in my response. Things have been very busy around here.

      The typical schedule in Atlanta is very similar any other Federal Minimum Detention Center. Essentially you are up and ready for breakfast by 6am. Report to work at 8am, Lunch at 11am, report back to work at 12pm. Back to quarters by 3pm, count from 3:30-4pm, dinner following count, free time or group sessions until 9pm, count from 9:30-10pm. One thing about my time in Atlanta was basically you were allowed to be up all night long. No one made you turn the TV off. Cards and Dominos were often played until late. There really were not worries as long as you made it to work the next day.

      The schedule changed depending on where you worked as well. Individuals who worked in the kitchen for breakfast had to report at 5am. Other positions were overnight positions. Hopefully that answers your questions.

  3. Waiting On Him says:

    I’ve found your posts very helpful as a good friend just SS on July 3 to Texarkana. At least it gives some insight as to what to expect. I pray you find success and the freedom to live apart from the stigma of the label the work/justice system has assigned. Best of luck to you and thank you for your candor.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I just left the Atlanta prison camp and it was not all that they say it was. It was not a vacation spot, it was prison they the staff was rude and not helpful. The medical care was the worst and the case workers sucked. There was only one counselor Mrs. Gordon that cared and she was the best thing at the camp. My experience there was never enough food to eat, and we were on lockdown for stuff that most of the campers was not involved in.

Leave a Reply

